Bangkok opens 15 sites for gubernatorial campaign rallies

The Bangkok Metropolitan Administration (BMA) is opening 15 public places, including parks and sports centers, for candidates running in Bangkok’s upcoming gubernatorial elections to hold their campaign rallies, it said today. (Wednesday) BMA Permanent Secretary Khachit Chatchavanich.

He said contestants must request permission in writing from the permanent secretary to use any of the venues at least three days before the event and must meet security requirements for the prevention of the spread of COVID-19.

Applicants should arrange their own equipment, props and stage for the rally as the city administration will only provide the venue, Khachit said, adding that applications are now open.

The 15 sites are:

  • The Lan Khon Mueang pitch in front of the city hall
  • Chatuchak Park
  • Queen Sirikit Park in the Chatuchak district
  • Wachirabenchatat or Rod Fai Park
  • Lumphini Park
  • Benchasiri Park in the Klong Toey district
  • King Taksin the great monument in Thon Buri district
  • The Rama VIII Memorial Park in the Bang Phlat district
  • The Rama IX Bridge Youth Center in the Rat Burana district
  • The Ramintra sports park in the Bang Khen district
  • Seri Thai Park in Bueng Kum District
  • Phra Nakhon Park in the Lat Krabang district
  • Prawet Neighborhood Health Park
  • Bangmod Sports Center in Thung Khru District
  • The park in front of The Mall Bang Khae

Most election candidates have so far campaigned by visiting communities to hear their issues or grievances, or by participating in roundtables to explain their policies. However, they have yet to deliver speeches in the public arena, the highlight of election campaigns.

31 candidates have registered to participate in the race, which is the highest number since the gubernatorial elections were held in Bangkok.

One candidate, Kraidaj Bunnag, was disqualified during the selection process after being recognized as the owner, publisher and editor of an entertainment newspaper, which is against electoral law.

Comments are closed.